Shops of Summerhill
Originally constructed in 1892, the buildings south of the North Toronto Station underwent a comprehensive three-year restoration and expansion process. Today, they stand as a collection of premier retail shops known in the Rosedale-Summerhill community as “The Five Thieves.” The contemporary additions complement the existing heritage properties and feature striking Indiana limestone, a solarium, and a glass lobby.
The interior spaces at Terroni seamlessly blend original exposed brick and fireplaces with new architectural elements, including terraces which offer breathtaking southern views of the city skyline. The Shops of Summerhill is a noteworthy landmark for adaptive reuse in the City of Toronto, improving the liveability of the Rosedale-Summerhill neighbourhood.
Status Built 1892, Restored 2007-2009, Sold 2016
Address 1095-1103 Yonge Street
Neighbourhood Rosedale-Summerhill, Toronto
Property Size 30,820 square feet
Key Tenants Terroni, Bar Centrale, Harvest Wagon, Olliffe Butcher Shop, Pisces, Nadege
2012, PUG Awards, Paul Oberman Award for Outstanding Achievement
2011, Toronto Urban Design Awards, Private Building in Context – Small Scale
2011, Heritage Toronto, Award of Merit
2011, City of Toronto Urban Design Award of Excellence, Low Scale Buildings in Context